‘A League Of Their Own’ Canceled By Amazon Prime

Amazon Prime has pulled the plug on the comedy-drama A League of Their Own, which was the second reboot of the beloved 1992 Penny Marshall film of the same name. The streaming service had previously announced an abbreviated four episode second – and final – season.

A League of Their Own is now the second Amazon Prime series to have its sophomore season renewal reversed, which could both be a result of the ongoing dual Writers Guild of America and SAG-AFTRA strikes.

Debuting in August 2022, A League of Their Own followed the formation of a World War II-era women’s professional baseball team called the Rockford Peaches. It starred Abbi Jacobson, D’Arcy Carden, Chanté Adams, Gbemisola Ikumelo, Roberta Colindrez, Saidah Arrika Ekulona, Kate Berlant, Kendall Johnson, Kelly McCormack, Alex Désert, Priscilla Delgado, Aaron Jennings, Molly Ephraim, Melanie Field, Dale Dickey and Nick Offerman. A total of eight episodes were produced.

The first spin-off series, also called A League of Their Own, aired for six episodes on CBS in 1993. The ensemble cast featured Megan Cavanagh, Tracy Reiner, Freddie Simpson and Garry Marshall reprising their roles from the movie.

The original 1992 film, which starred Tom Hanks, Geena Davis, Rosie O’Donnell, Madonna, Lori Petty, Jon Lovitz, David Strathairn, Garry Marshall and Bill Pullman, grossed over $132.4 million worldwide.

#League #Canceled #Amazon #Prime

Leave a Comment